Skip to main content

Western Sydney Councils have developed an electric vehicle roadmap, aiming to reduce emissions and boost energy savings for a more sustainable and affordable energy future.

Global markets and organisations have already begun the journey in transitioning to zero-emission vehicles and yet, the move towards electric vehicles has been slow in Western Sydney.

The EV Roadmap has been developed to assist Western Sydney councils to:

  • Adopt the roadmap goals, targets and actions
  • Set strong targets on council fleet transitions and charging infrastructure
  • Collaborate on grant applications and procurement opportunities
  • Develop and align council policies and land use planning approaches
  • Continue and increase advocacy work towards net-zero transport for the region

The NSW Government’s Net Zero Plan aims to reach net zero carbon by 2050 and a 35% cut in emissions by 2030, achieving this with a strong focus on EV uptake and leading by example through Council vehicles.

The roadmap was developed as a part of the Western Sydney Energy Program and will involve the following eight councils:

  • Blacktown City Council
  • Blue Mountains City Council
  • Cumberland City Council
  • Fairfield City Council
  • Hawkesbury City Council
  • Lithgow City Council
  • Liverpool City Council
  • City of Parramatta City Council

The funding dedicated for the EV transition was provided by the Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ARENA) and the Clean Energy Finance Corporation (CEFC).