Skip to main content

Extreme-E Season 4 got an electrifying start at the Desert X Prix in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. Defending Champion Rosberg X Racing (RXR) secured a dramatic victory in Round 1 as they came head-to-head with NEOM McLaren Extreme E Team. Round 2 saw ACCIONA | SAINZ XE Team (ASXE) taking their first win of the season.

Round 1

RXR clinched a thrilling victory in the opening round of the 2024 Extreme E season. Johan Kristoffersson and Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky of RXR secured the win, narrowly defeating NEOM McLaren’s Mattias Ekström and Cristina Gutiérrez by a mere 0.167 seconds. E.ON Veloce Racing claimed the third spot on the podium, while ACCIONA | SAINZ XE Team (ASXE) finished fourth after a dramatic roll for Fraser McConnell in the Grand Final’s last lap.

The intense competition showcased the tenacity of the drivers, with Åhlin-Kottulinsky making a decisive overtake to secure the victory. The RXR duo’s skilful performance sets an exciting tone for the rest of the season.

Round 2

ASXE secured their first win of the 2024 Extreme E season in a gripping Round 2 of the Desert X Prix. Fraser McConnell and Laia Sanz showcased remarkable skill, holding off challenges from Andretti Altawkilat’s Timmy Hansen and Catie Munnings. E.ON Veloce Racing clinched a consistent third-place finish in Saudi Arabia, securing back-to-back podiums. RXR completed the Round 2 Grand Final order.

McConnell, elated with the win, stated, “This is a big, big win. Stepping into this team was such a huge step for me. I am living this opportunity as if it is my last, making sure I can make a name for myself and the team.”

ASXE’s victory elevates them to second in the drivers’ standings, just two points behind RXR, with E.ON Veloce Racing securing the third position. The championship race promises further excitement as the teams gear up for future challenges.


Did you find this article interesting? Click the ‘heart’ button above to give it a ‘like’!