Skip to main content

In a showdown at the Antofagasta Minerals Copper X Prix in Chile, Rosberg X Racing (RXR) clinched their second Extreme E championship title in three seasons. The Grand Final, held on Saturday, 3rd December,  unfolded dramatically, with RXR overcoming substantial challenges to secure the coveted trophy.

The race was a rollercoaster of emotions as the RXR team, led by Formula 1 champion Nico Rosberg, crossed the finish line in second place despite navigating the challenging course with a severely damaged ODYSSEY 21. The contest took a pivotal turn when their nearest rivals, ACCIONA | SAINZ XE Team (ASXE), retired after a rollover by Laia Sanz in the closing stages, dashing their hopes of a maiden championship victory.

Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky of RXR expressed jubilation, stating, “Winning the 2023 Extreme E Championship is a dream come true. It was neck to neck all season with ASXE, but I’m just so happy and speechless right now. We fought so hard last year and narrowly missed the win, so it was stressful when I saw that we had a puncture. But as always, we never give up.”

Johan Kristoffersson of RXR dedicated the win to the late Kyle LeDuc, remarking, “After an intense season, winning the Extreme E Championship for a second time is incredible. ASXE put up an impressive fight this season, and I enjoyed every minute of the battles. I want to dedicate this win to Kyle LeDuc, who sadly passed away recently and who we will miss racing against.” 

Unforeseen Twists

The collision between NEOM McLaren XE and X44 Vida Carbon Racing further altered the dynamics of the race, affecting the contenders’ positions. Veloce Racing’s Molly Taylor strategically used her ENOWA Hyperdrive to secure the lead, ultimately claiming victory in the Grand Final.

Redemption Race Triumph

In the Redemption Race, No. 99 GMC HUMMER EV Chip Ganassi Racing, represented by Amanda Sorensen and RJ Anderson, celebrated their victory. Sorensen commented, “It feels fantastic to end the season on a high note. We had our ups and downs, but this win shows our determination and resilience.”

As the 2023 Extreme E season concluded in Chile, RXR’s triumph and the thrilling battles on the challenging terrain underscored the series’ commitment to pushing the limits of electric off-road racing.


Grand Final
1. Veloce Racing 8:31.760mins
2. Rosberg X Racing +4:19.110mins
3. X44 Vida Carbon Racing +8:11.502mins
5. NEOM McLaren Extreme E Team DNF

Redemption Race
1. No. 99 GMC HUMMER EV Chip Ganassi Racing 8:34.434mins
2. ABT CUPRA XE +14.909s
3.  JBXE +20.993s
4. Carl Cox Motorsport DNF

2023 Championship Standings
1. Rosberg X Racing: 182 points
2. ACCIONA | SAINZ XE Team: 171 points
3. Veloce Racing: 155 points
4. X44 Vida Carbon Racing: 121 points
5. No. 99 GMC HUMMER EV Chip Ganassi Racing: 113 points
6. ABT CUPRA XE: 81 points
7. Andretti ALTAWKILAT Extreme E: 71 points
8. NEOM McLaren Extreme E Team: 68 points
9. Carl Cox Motorsport: 50 points
10. JBXE: 50 points

Did you find this article interesting? Give it a ‘like’ by clicking the ‘heart’ button above!