Skip to main content

Whilst some leaders are born, most are honed by their environment, experiences and informal & formal education.

Today 12 individuals, current and future leaders within the automotive and fleet industries graduated from a specially crafted Diploma of Leadership and Management delivered by Swinburne University. This industry contextualised Diploma represents the first cohort from Sydney to complete the Australasian Fleet Management Association’s AfMA’s) leadership development program.

“Today is a significant day marking another step towards professionalising the automotive and fleet industries, a core objective of our peak industry body,” AfMA Executive Director Mace Hartley.”

“This leadership program wouldn’t have happened without the funding support of AfMA’s corporate partners Hyundai, NTT Data Figtree Systems and Manheim a Cox Automotive company.”

AfMA marked this day by launching its Alumni program. Entry to this prestigious Alumni is open to fleet professionals who’ve completed Swinburne’s Graduate Certificate of Business Management (Fleet Management) or the new Diploma of Leadership and Management.

“This industry Diploma recognises fleet professions are time poor so it has been condensed into 5 x 2 day blocks with the final assessment being a project delivered within their work environments. It was exciting to listen to each of the graduates projects and understand the anticipated ROI from there initiatives,” Mr Hartley said.

“Graduation day is special and it was great to see family members in attendance to enjoy and celebrate the success of their loved ones, congratulations class of 2017!”

AfMA would like to acknowledge and thank leading Fleet Management Organisation’s, Custom Fleet, Fleetcare, ORIX, SG Fleet, Summit Fleet Leasing and Toyota Fleet Management for supporting the professionalisation of the industry by enrolling emerging and current leaders from their companies.

Congratulations to the class of 2017:

  • Bryan Ries
  • Charlotte Rasmussen
  • Daniel Molnar
  • Darren Gore
  • Fiona Deal
  • Fortunato Lucky Araco
  • John Calcara
  • Kegan Brown
  • Kelly Leplaw
  • Lionel Saunders
  • Lyndall Bell
  • Mathew Moore
  • Phillip Boxsell