Skip to main content

Nominations for the 2020 Fleet Awards will close this coming Tuesday 2nd March.

Since their introduction in 1996 the awards have recognised new approaches and applications that have produced substantial reductions in costs, lowered emissions and improved safety outcomes.

This is your last chance to recognise those within the industry that are going above and beyond in their efforts. Don’t miss out!

Fleet Manager of the Year

Sponsored by BP Australia, this Award is presented to an individual demonstrating excellence across the field of Fleet Management.

2019 Winner – John Barlow, NSW Department of Industry

For John personally, taking home the Fleet Manager of the Year award in 2019 was a genuine thrill and honour.

“It’s been a great honour and a great privilege for the Department and the initiatives that we’ve put forward,” he said at the time.

“The key initiative that I’d like to highlight was the work that we’ve done to lead NSW Government in the use of vehicle telematics. Vehicle telematics to us have proven to be a great bonus, not only in reducing the number of insurance claims that we’ve got to process, but also the cost of those insurance claims.”

Fleet Environment Award

Sponsored by Hyundai Motor Company Australia, this Award is presented to an organisation for outstanding achievement in running a green fleet as part of a sustainability fleet policy.

2019 Winner – Meridian Energy, accepted by Nicholas Robillard

“The management of Meridian’s fleet is done so with a 100% focus on our company purpose – clean energy for a fairer and healthier world; and sustainability which is one of our 4 key values,” he said.

“Our current target is zero carbon by 2025, and we are already carbon neutral for our Scope 1 & 2 emissions. Our biggest contribution is 100% renewable energy generation and we are already lower than the science-based target for our sector.”

Fleet Safety Award

Sponsored by Teletrac Navman, this Award is presented to an organisation demonstrating best practice in Fleet Safety.

2019 Winner – New Zealand Racing Board, accepted by Richard Owen

“Winning the safety award for New Zealand Racing Board is something really phenomenal, and it’s something that we’ve really strived for as an organisation,” Richard Owen, Regional Operations Manager of New Zealand’s Racing Board said.

“Implementing results was a bit of a challenge, and we knew it was going to be – especially in terms of changing the culture of driver behaviour with our teams.”


The 2020 nomination process has been streamlined to help candidates with time challenges the easiest opportunity to submit an application as quickly as possible.

Simply email [email protected] with the following:

  • Name:
  • Award/s you are nominating for:
  • The organisation name:
  • Phone:
  • Email:

Nominations for the 2020 Fleet Awards close this Tuesday 2nd March 2020.