Skip to main content

The Australasian Fleet Management Association has been announced as part of the new Steering Committee for the National Road Safety Partnership Program (NRSPP).

The new Steering Committee includes a variety of non-for profits and large corporations, who will together lead the program and advocate on behalf of road safety for the next three years.

“The National Road Safety Partnership Program is proof collaboration across industry delivers the best outcomes,” AfMA’s Executive Director Mace Hartley said.

“AfMA is excited and privileged to join NRSPP’s Steering Committee. Having participated in numerous NRSPP working groups over several years, it’s an honour to contribute to the future direction.”

Previous projects that AfMA has participated in, include:

  • Safe Use of Mobiles in Vehicles (SUMV) Working Group
  • Grey Fleet Working Group, and
  • Suicide in Road Transport Prevention Working Group

“Over the past 12 months the program has really gone from strength-to-strength,” Professor Barry Watson, NRSPP Independent Chair said.

“The renewal of the Steering Committee introduces a few new organisations to replace those who have stepped down and I thank them for their support.”

The NRSPP has recognised that a critical factor towards its success is that the program needs to be led by a diverse range of industry organisations who are passionate about workplace road safety.

The NRSPP Steering Committee meets twice a year, with the next Steering Committee meeting set to include a strategic planning session, which will draw on insights from a comprehensive evaluation of the NRSPP currently underway.

The new Steering Committee marks the final stage of renewal of the program since it shifted to its new host at the Monash University Accident Research Centre (MUARC).

“The new Steering Committee will be able build on the learnings from the evaluation of the NRSPP and also draw on the resources of not just MUARC but the many other university groups that are now collaborating with the program,” Prof Watson said.

“The future of the program looks very exciting with some very innovative and collaborative initiatives in the planning phase. I look forward to working with the new Steering Committee to bring these initiatives to fruition,” said Prof Watson.

The NRSPP welcomes the following Steering Committee partners:

  • Australian Automobile Association represented by Michelle Quester, National Program Manager
  • Australasian Fleet Management Association represented by Mace Hartley, Executive Director.
  • BHP represented by Brad McArdle, Principle Global Transport Strategy
  • Commonwealth Bank represented by Rachel Gunn, Health Safety & Wellbeing Manager
  • Essential Energy represented by Chris Dhu, Head of Fleet
  • IAG represented by Peter Divjakinjav, National Risk Manager and Kate Hopman, Risk Manager – Motor
  • Innovation Group represented by Malcom Noyle, Key Account Manager
  • JESI represented by Joe Hoolahan, Chief Executive
  • Rio Tinto represented by Kevan Reeve, Principal Advisor Aviation and Mass Transport.
  • Safe Systems Solutions represented by Dr Tana Tan,
  • Toll Group represented by Dr Sarah Jones,
  • Uniting Care Queensland represented by Mark Stephens
  • Vero Suncorp represented by Brad Naidu, Senior Risk Specialist Motor
  • Viva Energy represented by Felix Ohle, General Manager Logistics
  • Zurich Insurance represented by Mervyn Rea, Head of Zurich Resilience Solutions (Australia & New Zealand)

COVID willing, there is hope that the next Steering Committee meeting will be held face-to-face in Melbourne at the end of the year, allowing this important work to be conducted in person.